Show Summary Details

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD HANDBOOKS ONLINE (www.oxfordhandbooks.com). © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Handbooks Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 21 July 2019

Abstract and Keywords

If “satire” in its broadest meaning constitutes a pervasive element of Neo-Latin literature, Neo-Latin satire nonetheless manifests itself in two major forms, viz. (i) as an isometric poem (sermo) in the vein of Lucilius, Horace, Persius, and Juvenal; and (ii) as prosimetric or Menippean satire, in imitation of Seneca’s Apocolocyntosis or the fragmentary and novel-like Satyricon by Petronius. Taking into account both contemporary and current debates on the poetics of satire, this chapter traces the developments and principal representatives of either form. It also surveys the primary themes treated by Neo-Latin satirists and examines the satirical spirit in other modes of writing (such as the letter or the Lucianic dialogue) as well as the relation between Neo-Latin satire and the vernacular.

Keywords: Neo-Latin satire, Horace, Juvenal, Persius, Petronius, Lucian, verse satire, Menippean satire, prosimetrum, Neo-Latin and the vernacular

Access to the complete content on Oxford Handbooks Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.