Show Summary Details

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD HANDBOOKS ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Handbooks Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 26 August 2019

Abstract and Keywords

The founder of the Twentieth Dynasty, Sethnakhte, began a tomb (KV 11) that was incomplete at his death, the king being instead buried in the usurped tomb of his predecessor Tausret (KV 14). Ramesses III subsequently completed KV 11 for his own burial. The tomb of Ramesses IV (KV 2) was completed to a reduced plan, while that of Ramesses V (KV 9) was taken over by his successor Ramesses VI and completed by him. The tombs of both Ramesses VII and IX (KV 1 and 6) were finished on reduced scales, while those of Ramesses X and XI (KV 18 and 4) were left unfinished and unoccupied by their owners. That of Ramesses VIII remains unknown. All the tombs had a decorative scheme based on a range of Books of the Underworld, with a number of compositions unique to certain sepulchers. The decoration of these tombs formed the basis for that found in the royal tombs of the Third Intermediate Period.

Keywords: Book of Amduat, Book of Caverns, Book of Gates, Book of the Divine Cow, Book of the Dead, Book of the Earth, Book of the Night, Litany of Re, Ramesses III—IX, Sethnakhte

Access to the complete content on Oxford Handbooks Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.