Show Summary Details

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD HANDBOOKS ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Handbooks Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 15 December 2019

Abstract and Keywords

This book is a collection of twenty-six original chapters written by distinguished philosophers, political theorists, historians, and literary scholars from six countries to explore Thomas Hobbes’s philosophy. This introduction takes a brief look at Hobbes’s life and considers major themes in his philosophy. Hobbes’s complete system was presented in three parts, De corpore (1655), De homine (1658), and De cive (1642). These books encapsulate Hobbes’s philosophy of logic and language, physics, mathematics and science, metaphysics, ethics, and religion. This book also contains Hobbes’s views on reason, appetite, will, laws of nature, the civil state, sovereignty, history, poetry, and paradox.

Keywords: Thomas Hobbes, philosophy, logic, language, physics, mathematics, metaphysics, ethics, religion, reason

Access to the complete content on Oxford Handbooks Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.