Show Summary Details

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD HANDBOOKS ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Handbooks Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 08 May 2021

Abstract and Keywords

Divided into two parts, this essay first considers the seven sacraments as encounters with grace mediated by visible signs. But rather than focusing on a general account of sacrament and moving to specific examples, the essay begins with different forms of sacramental act. All sacramentality originates in Christ’s union of the human and the divine, and in the intimate link between Christ’s person and the life of the Church. The sacraments are divided into three groups: sacraments of initiation (baptism, confirmation, Eucharist); sacraments of healing (anointing the sick and reconciliation); and sacraments in the service of communion (holy orders and marriage). The second half of the chapter concerns ‘sacramentology’, ways in which sacraments have been described in general terms.

Keywords: Christ, Church, sign, baptism, confirmation, Eucharist, anointing, reconciliation, holy orders, marriage

Access to the complete content on Oxford Handbooks Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.