Show Summary Details

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD HANDBOOKS ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Handbooks Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 19 November 2019

(p. xvi) (p. xvii) List of Contributors

(p. xvi) (p. xvii) List of Contributors

Commander Simon Reay Atkinson, Royal Navy and Cambridge University

Ambassador Alyson J. K. Bailes, University of Iceland

Ambassador Robert G. Bell, former Assistant Secretary-General, NATO, Brussels and Special Representative of the US Secretary of Defense to Europe

Hans Binnendijk, Vice President for Research and Applied Learning, National Defense University, Washington

Professor Yves Boyer, Professor, Ėcole polytechnique, Paris and Deputy Director, Foundation for Strategic Research (FRS), Paris

Jacqueline Carpenter, National Defense University, Washington

Michael Clarke, Director, Royal United Services Institute, London

Christopher Coker, Professor of International Relations, London School of Economics

Paul Cornish, Carrington Chair, Royal Institute for International Affairs, London

Olivier Debouzy, former senior French civil servant and expert on international relations

Chris Donnelly, Institute for Statecraft and Governance

Colonel Benoit Durieux, former Commander, 2nd Infantry Regiment, French Foreign Legion

Isabelle Facon, Senior Researcher, Foundation for Strategic Research and Maître de conférence, Ėcole polytechnique, Paris

Sir Lawrence Freedman, Professor of War Studies and Vice-Principal, Kings College London

Professor Julian Lindley-French, Eisenhower Professor of Defence Strategy, Netherlands Defence Academy, and Associate Fellow, Chatham House

Colonel Gian P. Gentile, United States Military Academy at West Point and Visiting Fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations

Général d’armée Jean-Louis Georgelin, former Chief of the French Defence Staff

Colonel Michel Goya, Etat-Major des Armées, Paris

Lt. General Andrew Graham, former Director-General, United Kingdom Defence Academy

William Hopkinson, former Director of Studies, Royal Institute for International Affairs and Assistant Under-Secretary of State, Policy, Ministry of Defence, UK

Ambassador Robert E. Hunter, National Defense University, Washington, DC

Christopher Kinsey, Kings College London

Professor Radha Kumar, Director, Nelson Mandela Center for Peace and Conflict Resolution, New Delhi

Général de Corps d’Armée Antoine Lecerf, was Commandant de la Force d’Action Terrestre, Lille

Sir Paul Lever, Royal United Services Institute, London

Christian Malis, Scientific Director, Fondation Saint-Cyr

Colonel Ton de Munnik, Netherlands Defence Academy, Breda

Air Commodore Frans Osinga, Professor and Director of the War Studies Department, Netherlands Defence Academy, Breda

Vice-Admiral Fumio Ota, JMSDF (ret.d), PhD, Director of the International Exchange Programme, National Defence University, Yokosuka, Japan

Xavier Pasco, Maître de Recherche, FRS and Maître de Conférence, Sciences Po, Paris

Major-General Peng Guang Qian, Academy of Military Science, Beijing, China

Andrew Rathmell, Principal, Coffey International Development

General Sir David Richards, Chief of the Defence Staff, United Kingdom Armed Forces

Dr. Ben Schoenmaker, Netherlands Institute of Military History

Paul Schulte, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace; Kings College, and School of Oriental and African Studies, London University

Heinz Schulte, Editor, Griephan Publications

Jamie Shea, Deputy Assistant Secretary-General, NATO, Brussels

General Sir Richard Shirreff, Deputy Supreme Allied Commander, NATO

George-Henri Soutou, Professor Emeritus at Paris-Sorbonne (Paris IV) University and Member of the Institut de France, Paris

Hew Strachan, Chichele Professor of the History of War and Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford University

Serge Sur, Professor of International Law, Paris Panthéon-Assas (Paris II) University

(p. xix) General P. J. M. van Uhm, Chief of Defence of the Netherlands

Matthew Uttley, Professor of Defense Studies, Kings College London

Alfredo G. A. Valladão, Professor and former Chair of Mercosur, Science Po, Paris

Admiral The Right Honourable Lord West of Spithead GCB DSC DUniv, Former Security Minister and First Sea Lord, Royal Navy, London

Rob de Wijk, Director, Hague Centre for Strategic Studies and Professor of International Relations, Leiden University

Nick Witney, European Council on Foreign Relations and former Chief Executive, European Defence Agency, Brussels

Caroline Wyatt, Defence Correspondent, BBC, London