Show Summary Details

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD HANDBOOKS ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Handbooks Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 08 March 2021

(p. vi) Acknowledgments

(p. vi) Acknowledgments

The idea for this handbook came initially from David Musson, the Business and Management Editor at Oxford University Press. In July 1999, at the 15th EGOS Colloquium, University of Warwick, Haridimos Tsoukas was an organizer (with Jean-Claude Thoenig) of one of the streams of the Colloquium, entitled ‘Organization Theory as Science: Prospects and Limitations', in which Christian Knudsen presented a paper. David liked the topic of the stream as well as several of the papers presented and suggested that we edit an Oxford Handbook on Organization Theory with an explicitly meta-theoretical focus. Since both of us had been individually (and jointly) researching meta-theoretical issues in OT for several years, we were more than delighted to have this marvellous opportunity to put together a number of high-quality contributions by some of the field's most distinguished academics. We would like to thank David Musson for this opportunity. Without his stimulating encouragement and keen eye for spotting interesting debates in management and business studies, this volume probably would not have been produced. We would also like to thank his team at the Oxford University Press for their professionalism, especially Lynn Childress for her thorough and meticulous copyediting. Last, but not least, we would like to express our gratitude to the contributors to this volume for the enthusiasm with which they embraced the idea of the present handbook, and their energy and patience in going through seemingly endless rounds of commentaries and revisions. This volume is what it is thanks to their high standards of scholarship and their passion for reflective dialogue. Thank you all.

Haridimos Tsoukas and Christian Knudsen