Show Summary Details

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD HANDBOOKS ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Handbooks Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 24 August 2019

Abstract and Keywords

A canon is a collection of sacred books. A rule of faith is a concise statement of Christian beliefs. The Hebrew (Jewish) canon (the Christian Old Testament) comprised three parts: the Law (five books), the Prophets (eight books), and the Writings (eleven books). The Septuagint or Greek translation of the Hebrew Bible is longer, by at least seven books. The earliest New Testament canon appeared before 200, and it was finalized c.400. The New Testament comprises the Gospel (4) and the Apostle (13 letters, or 14 with Hebrews). Luke added Acts to his Gospel and John the Presbyter wrote Revelation. Seven catholic epistles complete the canon. The rule of faith, prominent in Irenaeus, Clement of Alexandria, and Tertullian, guided the perception of orthodoxy, and theological thought, in the second and third centuries. Later the creeds (baptismal and conciliar) functioned as the rule of faith had earlier.

Keywords: canon of Scripture, rule of faith, Old Testament canon, Septuagint, New Testament canon, baptismal creed

Access to the complete content on Oxford Handbooks Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.