Show Summary Details

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD HANDBOOKS ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Handbooks Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 01 October 2020

(p. xi) Contributors

(p. xi) Contributors

Janine Marchessault

is Professor of Cinema and Media Studies at York University. A past president of the Film Studies Association of Canada, she is the author of McLuhan, Cosmic Media (2005); Ecstatic Worlds: Media, Utopias, Ecologies (2017), and editor/co-editor of numerous collections including Reimagining Cinema: Film at Expo 67 (with Monika Gagnon, 2014); Cartographies of Place: Navigating the Urban (with Michael Darroch, 2014); 3D Cinema and Beyond (with Dan Adler et al., 2015). She has published widely on questions of cinema, the city, new media, and contemporary art.

Will Straw

is James McGill Professor of Urban Media Studies in the Department of Art History and Communications Studies at McGill University. He is the author of Cyanide and Sin : Visualizing Crime in 50s America (2006) and co-editor of several volumes including Circulation and the City: Essays on Urban Culture (with Alexandra Boutros) and Formes Urbaines (with Anouk Bélanger and Annie Gérin). He has published widely on popular culture of all kinds, and is the author of over 150 articles on music, cinema, and urban culture.

Lisa Aalders,

Research Associate, Concordia University.

Olivier Asselin,

Professor, Département d’histoire de l’art et d’études cinématographiques, Université de Montréal.

Karine Bertrand,

Assistant Professor, Department of Film and Media, Queen’s University.

Michael Brendan Baker,

Professor of Film Studies, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, Sheridan College.

Suzanne Buchan,

Professor in Animation, Middlesex University London.

Andrew Burke,

Associate Professor, University of Winnipeg.

Richard Cavell,

Professor, Department of English, University of British Columbia.

Joumane Chahine,

independent scholar.

Lily Cho,

Associate Professor, Department of English, York University.

Marion Froger,

Associate Professor, Université de Montréal.

Monika Kin Gagnon,

Professor, Department of Communication Studies, Concordia University.

(p. xii) Daniel Laforest,

Associate Professor, University of Alberta.

Bruno Lessard,

Associate Professor, School of Image Arts, Ryerson University.

André Loiselle,

Professor, Department of Film Studies, Carleton University.

Brenda Longfellow,

Professor, Department of Cinema and Media Arts, York University.

Scott MacKenzie,

Associate Professor, Department of Film and Media, Queen’s University.

William Marshall,

Professor, Comparative Cultural Studies, University of Stirling.

Graciela Martínez-Zalce,

Director, Centre for the Study of North America, National Autonomous University of Mexico.

Fulvia Massimi,

PhD candidate, Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema, Concordia University.

Jessica Mulvogue,

post-doctoral fellow, York University.

Scott Preston,

Associate Professor, Department of Culture and Media Studies, University of New Brunswick.

Ian Robinson,

Lecturer, Department of Film and Media, Queen’s University.

Johanne Sloan,

Professor, Department of Art History, Concordia University.

Darrell Varga,

Division Chair, NSCAD University.

Ira Wagman,

Associate Professor of Communication Studies, Carleton University.

Thomas Waugh,

Professor, Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema, Concordia University.

Anna Westerståhl Stenport,

Professor, School of Modern Languages, Georgia Tech.