Show Summary Details

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD HANDBOOKS ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Handbooks Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 13 May 2021

(p. v) Acknowledgements

(p. v) Acknowledgements

A book like this is only possible with the assistance of a great many people.

We are especially grateful to the contributors who agreed to share their ideas and their time. Such a volume stands or falls on the quality of its chapters and we believe that this will be a reference work for many years to come. Thank you also to those who did not write themselves, but helped us to identify scholars and practitioners that we might otherwise have missed.

At Oxford University Press, Merel Alstein, John Louth, and their colleagues immediately saw the value of broadening the international law discourse—in which OUP plays such a significant role—to include more voices from Asia and the Pacific. Jack McNichol and Brad Rosenkrantz at OUP, and S Lakshmanan at SPi Global, ensured a smooth and timely production process. Their professionalism and their dedication to quality are, we hope, satisfied in this finished product. We also thank the anonymous reviewers for their comments, including in challenging us to reflect on our—and others’—conceptions of ‘Asia’ and the ‘Pacific’.

Simon Chesterman thanks colleagues at the National University of Singapore Faculty of Law for support and advice, especially the outstanding research assistance of Jesslyn Zeng and the administrative support of Jenny Thian.

Hisashi Owada wishes to acknowledge the valuable help and advice he received from his research assistants at the International Court of Justice, in particular Yukiko Takashiba, Kei Nakajima, and Samuel H Chang.

Ben Saul benefited from the assistance of many volunteer student editors at Sydney Law School at the University of Sydney in preparing the final manuscript. Special thanks are due to Oscar Alcock, Sulithi Dewendra, and Matthew Del Gigante; and thanks also to Steven Adler, Denea Bascombe, Rasa Bergin, Nicholas Betts, Sanya Bhatnagar, Avalon Carnall, Rhys Carvosso, Novea Chan, Kailin Chen, Elsie Cheung, Sarah Condie, Mischa Davenport, Kaley DellaSala, Robert Deppeler, Jessica Duan, Rashmi Fernando, Madeline Fisher, Anna FitzGerald, Peijun Gao, Anna Gemmell-Smith, Eirinn Hayes, Claire Ho, Yiwei Huang, Isabelle James, Alex Jeffares, Mindy Kan, Shivank Kaushik, Alison Lee, Nina Li, Chuling Liu, Kate Lumsdaine, Shani Macisaac, Annie McLean, Lucy Nason, Sophia Nasser, Samantha Neayem, Rowan O’Donnell, Amelia Pash, Aleks Pasternacki, Dadar Ahmadi Pirshahid, Miranda Ramjattan, Georgia Reid, Andrew Robertson, Rebecca Salisbury, Dineth Samarasinghe, Fathima Nashwa Samy, Johnny Sorras, Madeleine Stevens, Yang Xiang, Fifi Xu, Jessica Xu, Yilin Xu, Zekun Yang, Gisselle Yaw Brito, and Soo Young Cho.

Insofar as the book has merit, appreciation should be shared with all these people; deficiencies and omissions are attributable to the editors alone. (p. vi)