Show Summary Details

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD HANDBOOKS ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Handbooks Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 19 October 2020

Abstract and Keywords

Major subsequent modifications and revisions have been made to Arthur Evans's pottery sequence, but his suggested tripartite division of the Neolithic period and the Minoan period is still by and large in use. Most scholars are also using a parallel, broader, and more simplified division of the Minoan era: the Prepalatial, Protopalatial, Neopalatial, Final palatial, and Postpalatial periods. Only the most important novelties and characteristic traits in each period are highlighted in this article, and it must be emphasized that “a specific period is defined not only by the exclusive presence of certain features but by the fact that some wares are common while others are just beginning or ending their periods of greatest popularity.”.

Keywords: Arthur Evans, pottery sequence, Neolithic period, Minoan, Prepalatial, Protopalatial, Neopalatial, Final palatial, Postpalatial

Access to the complete content on Oxford Handbooks Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.