Show Summary Details

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD HANDBOOKS ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Handbooks Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 28 November 2020

Abstract and Keywords

This article considers Shakespeare's later drama works. Four of the six surviving plays that he wrote and co-wrote between 1607 and 1613 are beautiful companions for one another. The works known as the romances – Pericles, Cymbeline, The Winter's Tale, and The Tempest – sit together like circles with overlapping historical engagements. The article also examines two plays Shakespeare co-wrote with John Fletcher: The Two Noble Kinsmen and Henry VII.

Keywords: John Fletcher, Pericles, Cymbeline, Winter's Tale, Two Noble Kinsmen, Henry VII

Access to the complete content on Oxford Handbooks Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.